July 2017 Wrap Up

Well, July absolutely flew past! At the beginning of the month, I had plans to read at least four books to get slightly ahead on my Goodreads challenge: that clearly failed. I worked a lot more than I had in the past few months, I was so sick that I practically slept for an entire week, but most importantly, I reinstalled The Sims 4 on my laptop (which might I add, that was a very poor decision!). The combination of the above means that I barely picked up a book for weeks, but somehow I managed to finish two novels: do I sense a theme forming?

29811260The Haters by Jesse Andrews:

This novel was on my TBR for quite some time because I loved Andrews’ previous novel Me and Earl and The Dying GirlIt’s fair to say I had insanely high hopes for this, and at the time I thought they were reached, but now that I look back I’m not so certain.

This novel follows three teens who meet and a jazz camp, and the motley crew form their own band and go on tour. On the way, they create some unforgettable memories: both for the best and the worst reasons! The group run into a vast array of people and their hilarious little shenanigans lead to a number of performances at local bars and restaurants before they are brought back to reality, and have to deal with consequences from the spontaneous adventure (trust me, it is a lot better than it sounds!)

This book is one of those where you just pick it up and are immersed by their world instantly. It was a fun little read with a rather unique storyline, and Andrews’ dark and twisted sense of humour made everything ten times more interesting!

 

26202647The Many Worlds of Albie Bright by Christopher Edge

This novel was my first ever Middle Grade, and I must say I was very impressed! The plot of this novel surrounds a young boy named Albie whose mother has just passed after a long fight with cancer. Both his parents are scientists, so when he asked his father about what has happened he says that she is still alive somewhere, just not here. Albie takes it upon himself to find the alternate universe where she is alive using quantum physics and a rotten banana.

I was a little hesitant going into this novel because my knowledge surrounding science is little to nothing, but Edge explained everything perfectly that even the simplest of minds could grasp the idea. That being said, it was not boring and I can say that people of all ages would enjoy the story as it is legitimately entertaining, and the underlying messages about love and life are really important.


The title of ‘my favourite book of the month’ was a tough competition, but I’m leaning more towards The Haters by Jesse Andrews purely because I’m more likely to rave about that novel. Sadly, that means my least favourite is The Many Worlds of Ablie Bright by Christopher Edge, but that definitely doesn’t mean that I hated it!

So that concludes my July Wrap-up for 2017! How many books did you guys read this month, and which one was your favourite? Leave me a comment down below and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

