June 2017 Wrap Up

June was the first time I picked up a book in over 4 months! The University semester finished so I found myself with an abundance of time that needed to be occupied, so God bless, my reading slump is officially over. To be fair it was only two which is a poor effort, but at least I have eased myself back into the book world well and truly. This month’s wrap-up is short and sweet, although the books weren’t as appealing.

33336580Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare:

This novel was one of my most anticipated releases of the year, and it did not disappoint! I absolutely loved everything about this book, yet the ending tore my heart out and ripped it to shreds.

If you haven’t heard about this series, hi, you must be new here! This novel is the second novel in The Dark Artifices trilogy, which is the third series in the Shadowhunter Chronicles. I can’t really discuss much of this book without majorly spoiling Lady Midnight and most of the other novels set in the same world but just know this: it’s badass, fun, and extremely addictive!

Lord of Shadows was my favourite novel by Cassandra Clare to date, and I am eagerly anticipating the conclusion Queen of Air and Darkness. That’s if I don’t die from heartache before then!

30117284Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth:

Brief Synopsis: This novel follows a girl and boy from different worlds at war, who have been brought together by fate. Cyra is the sister to the tyrant ruling Shotet, while Akos is an imprisoned servant from the enemy territory known as Thuvete. The pair must learn to tolerate each other and work together as they can help each other gain what they most desire: freedom.

This book was one that I didn’t want to read due to the controversy in the community, but my grandfather offered me a free copy so I jumped at the opportunity. Honestly, I wish I didn’t.

I have had a huge problem with Roth’s writing style in the past, with her hugely popular Divergent trilogy, but I gave her the benefit of the doubt and tried anyway. It’s fair to say I was disappointed by the lack of change. The characters felt one-dimensional and the protagonists lacked individual personality: they were always represented as a ‘package deal’.

That wasn’t the worst of it though. The story was extremely slow and the plot was somewhat uneventful- when paired with subpar world building, it’s a recipe for disaster!


My favourite novel of the month was Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare (which is no surprise really!), while my least favourite was Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth. Honestly, there was no competition in handing out these titles, it’s quite clear which one I preferred!

So that concludes my June Wrap-up for 2017! How many books did you guys read this month, and which one was your favourite? Leave me a comment down below and I’ll see you next time!

Rach xx

Leave a Reply

