The Next Chapter: November 2016

I am about to start the newest chapter of my life ,and to be frank, it’s terrifying! This following week marks the end of my gruelling high school life and the thought is quite relaxing and stressful. My final year exams are draining all my energy, and all my spare time is going towards last minute revision, which is the main reason why I haven’t read anything in months! I’ve barely had time to even think about recreational reading when there is always an essay due at the end of the week! The last month has been packed with the rush of getting in all my assignments because me, being the good student I am, has left everything to the last moment possible. The years worth of tears, stress and hundreds of hours of procrastination have been leading up to this final stretch of schooling.

Yes, I have not been as active as I hoped to be on all my media outlets, but that doesn’t mean I can’t sneak a quick look at my Instagram feed or read a few blog posts. I may not be commenting and liking as often as I would like, but I can promise you that those few moments of relaxation has gotten me through the year!

So you may be thinking ‘what’s next?’, and to be honest, I’m not sure. I have applied to many Universities in hope of pursuing my dream career, and if I’m accepted, in four years time I will be in the same position as I am now, although I will be graduating as a fully qualified accountant (I know, such a thrilling goal!). If those plans don’t go smoothly, I guess I have to roll with the punches and find some way to crawl back in! However, between now and early next year (when the offers are sent) I might change my mind, and decide to follow a completely different life path.

The one thing I do know is that my love for literature has remained, even grown stronger with its prolonged absence in my life. I still love curling up in bed with a fantastic book, and sharing my thoughts and photos on Instagram because my real life friends just don’t understand my nerdy reference.

My love for writing has even resurfaced and I’m outlining multiple novel ideas, from various genres that I hope to work on in the near future! What I find most difficult about this process is finding the right genre for me to write. I have so many different ideas floating around in my head that I can’t seem to pinpoint one; there’s everything from gut-wrenching love stories to fantastical witch stories that involve time travel. My appreciation for authors has multiplied ten fold, and I hope that someday I can join that group of people.

So although I don’t have my future set out perfectly, I do know that I will still be here, and I hope you guys will too! I have appreciated the people that have stuck around during this year even though I haven’t. I really hope to get back into the swing of things soon!


I am starting this new segment as a way to keep you guys updated on my personal life! the beginning of each month I’m going to have a little spiel about anything in my which could include anything from my newest obsessions of the month to which books I’m currently reading. I always love getting to know the person behind the infamous blog title, so I hope you will love these as much as I love writing it! I guess it’s also a form of digital diary for me to look back on in the future to see how I coped with the transition. I’m really excited to see how this evolves within the next few months and please bare with me until I have a solid layout for this segment!

See you next time,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

