25 Bookish facts about me!

I’ve had this blog for quite some time now, we have gone through many awkward phases together, and now I’m starting a journey to revamp what’s here until I’m completely happy with it. To celebrate this milestone I thought we should get to know each other a bit more, I always enjoy meeting the person behind a blog!

IMG_0520
Hello, it’s me

So here are 25 bookish facts about me, I pre-warn you by saying I’m likely to ramble. With that in mind, let’s jump in:

1. I have always been a passionate reader! 

Since childhood, I’ve basically always had a novel in my hand and was rarely seen without one near by. This passion died out for a few years during my angsty tweenage days, because I was embarrassed as reading was “nerdy and uncool”. Now, I really don’t care about others opinions and I couldn’t be happier!

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green re-sparked my love for reading.

It was a few months before the film came out and a friend recommended it to me, and I was in love! I immediately purchased his other books and started a Goodreads account to look at similar books. I could either blame her for my uncontrollable addiction, or thank her, I haven’t decided yet.

3. TBR’s are never a good idea with me.

 No matter how hard I try, I can NEVER stick to a TBR each month. I guess I loose interest to easily in books, so I kind of just wing it. I pick up what I feel like and that system seems to be working pretty good so far!

4. I have never read the entire Harry Potter series. 

Before you banish me to hell, I have read the first 3 and a half, and I’m slowly but surely working my way through the rest. But I am as shocked as you are that I haven’t picked them up earlier!

5. Bookstagram is my main platform. 

You should check it out if you haven’t, @rachel_reads (a little self-promo never hurts). This was my first book related account and I will forever hold it dearly in my heart. Although I’m slowly loosing motivation, and I’m blaming school for that; blog writing is quickly becoming my new favourite thing to do!

6. I probably spend way to much time on Goodreads.

 Literally hours upon hours of my life has been spent reading reviews, even for books I’ve already read just so I can compare their thoughts to my own. Is this weird?

7. My “want to read” list is larger than I’d like to admit.

I blame it entirely on Goodreads! Who thought it was a good idea to have a recommendations box? Every time I open the website, by some miracle, at least 5 books are added to my list. I don’t even know how it happens, but it’s practically tradition now!

8. Silence is needed while I read!

It’s quite sad, but I can’t read with background noise. Perhaps it’s because I am so nosy and feel the need to listen to others conversations (don’t pretend like you don’t do it too!). Slowly I have trained myself to read with very faint classical music in the background. Baby steps guys, baby steps.

9. Even though many books have been read during my life time, I am still such a slow reader! 

Once again, I’m trying to train myself to read faster and I’m SLOWLY increasing speed but I envy people that can read a whole book in one day. I shall be like you in the very distant future!

10. Paperbacks are my favourite form of literature!

Don’t get me wrong, give me a hardback or eBook and I wont complain, but my heart is promised to the under appreciated paperbacks. Here is why:

  1. They are so connivent to hold while reading
  2. If you manage to drop one on your face while in a ridiculous reading position you wont get a giant bruise, and yes, I am speaking from experience
  3. Probably most importantly, they are so much cheaper than their hardbound counterparts

11. Bookmarks are not essential reading gear.

Honestly, I will use ANYTHING as a bookmark. Everything from receipts to leaves, if it’s small and convenient, I have used it. This is quite ridiculous considering I have purchased some beautiful bookmarks from Lilly Tales and Kaybee’s Designs (Check them out, highly recommended!) yet they are practically décor on my bookshelf.

SAMSUNG CSC
Wooden Bookmarks: Lilly Tales, Book Dragon Bookmark: Kaybee’s Designs

 

12. Honestly, I will read practically anything that it considered contemporary or fantasy. 

Something within my brain just craves an insanely detailed and action packed fantasy or heart warming contemporary. I think these genres make up 90% of my bookshelf and I do not care #noragrets

13. That being said, I really am trying to push myself out of this comfort zone by trying new genres.

My love for historical fiction has recently been awoken by the television adaptation of Outlander and now that’s all I want. Only problem is, I don’t have any. That validates a giant book haul rights?

14. Speaking of historical fiction, I would love to write my own novel one day!

 I have been researching different time periods and conflicts that I could manipulate into something glorious. Although I haven’t found something yet, I am not giving up on my dream!

15. Pretend book shopping is probably my favourite past time. 

Right, you probably think I’m crazy but hear me out! All you do is add some of your most wanted books to your cart and cry because you have no money in your bank account. Then you think about how large your library would be if you were rich, empty the cart and start again. This is quite therapeutic and I recommend it, although it breaks your heart a little, it dulls the craving for new bookish purchases. I repeat this process more than I’d like to admit!

16. I have a huge problem with creating a characters appearance in my head. 

For some unknown reason, most of the characters I have read have an incomplete face. Main features are included like eye colour, or if they have an unusual scar which is very common in YA literature. So basically, they are just a pair of eyes on a blank face and its scares me a bit sometimes! Does that even make sense? I can’t explain it well.

17. The concept of Audio books intimidates me!

I think it’s probably the most convenient form of reading, although I can’t bring myself to try one. Firstly, I have no idea where to start, because what if the one I choose is really bad? And secondly, the idea that someone else is reading me the book makes me feel like a cheater, and that I haven’t actually read the book. My brain works in mysterious ways!

18. Sticky tabs are honestly my best friend!

When I am reading a book I tab basically everything: great quotes, cute scenes, great OTP moments and even character deaths. They are all colour coordinated as it helps me to remember specific moments and ideas to include in my reviews, or I can just re-read the cute scenes.

SAMSUNG CSC

19. I will do whatever is in my power to prevent creasing book spines.

I will sit in the most uncomfortable position for hours, with cramping hands and an aching back, just to prevent damage to the spine. It’s purely due to the fact I want my books in pristine condition, which is probably a little shallow of me, but each to their own.

20. Watching Booktube has taken over my life! 

I waste far too many hours watching book related videos, rather than actually reading something. It is a problem that far too many of us suffer from, yet I just can’t stop! I would love to make my own account but I’m far too self conscious for that…

21. I can not read two books at the same time.

I hate having two or more books on the go at once, and I have only done this a few time, but I have trouble differentiating between them. I get the plot and characters mixed up so badly I have to start both again!

22. I rarely ever DNF books.

I hate giving up on the story, and I’ve only done it three times! I always try my hardest to finish because quite often, I end up enjoying them thoroughly.

23. Am I the only one that hates the smell of old books?

Whenever I read an older book the musty smell makes me sneeze uncontrollably. I can not comprehend why someone would enjoy it!

24. I have planned to get a bookish related tattoo.

When I am old enough I would love to get quotation marks on my wrist, and let’s hope I don’t chicken out because I can’t handle pain at all! I’m sure once I get one, my body will canvas dedicated towards bookish related symbols and quotes: practically a walking shrine to my favourites!

Quotation Tattoo

25. I only lend my books to a select few people.

I have lent out books before and they have returned in such an atrocious condition I made them repurchase it, and I don’t feel guilty about it. Since then, I am VERY cautious about letting my books out of my supervision, as many of us bookworms are.


Not gonna lie that was much more difficult than I expected. However, that is some of my bookish facts! I encourage everyone to try it for themselves; it’s a very eye opening task! So what are some of you bookish secrets or unique facts? Let me know in a comment below, and see you next time!

 

One Reply to “25 Bookish facts about me!”

Leave a Reply

