Readable Releases: May 2016

The releases this month are extraordinary! I had a VERY tough time narrowing it down to my usual five, so much so that I included six instead oops… It sure will be tough to stick with my book buying ban this month, but that doesn’t mean I can share my anticipated reads with my fellow bibliophiles. So sit back, relax, and maybe add some of these books to your list!

DISCLAIMER: the release dates may vary, and apply to Australia only. You may have to check your own countries dates.


Night Speed by Chris Howard

Publication Date: May 3rd

26074199

What I gather from this synopsis, this is about a drug called Tetra that gives you nine minutes full of superhuman goodness. One girl, Alana, was trained to use the drug to track down and stop criminals that abuse the drugs power with incredible strength and speed. Of course she has a tragic background that influenced her to turn to the good side; her brother was nearly killed by one of bad guys! I honestly don’t need to know anything more because let’s be real, this sounds like the best plot ever! I’m expecting some great action and badass characters, and I’m thrilled that the protagonist is a crime fighting female. I always need more wicked women in my life! I can’t wait to dive into this world full badassery, action, and probably a bit of drama & romance.

Ruined by Amy Tintera

Publication Date: May 3rd

Ruined

This is the first novel in a new fantasy, Young Adult trilogy by the well-loved Amy Tintera. This follows a girl named Emelina Flores whom has nothing after her home is ravaged by war. Which is when her parents are murdered and only sister is kidnapped by her kingdoms rival. This causes Em to go on a dangerous journey to save her sister, with the only way in the borders in to marry Prince Casimir. This is dangerous as she could be executed on the spot if they find out about her past, but she driven by a true desire for revenge.

Oh my god this sounds fantastic! Even though it has the generic plot line: bad things happen that cause the protagonist to go on a raging war path, only to doubt themselves once they fall in love with the enemy, but I’m hoping for so much more. After reading countless reviews, mind I add they are all positive so far, I’m shaking with anticipation for this beast of a book. I know I’m going to love it, and I’m sure everyone else will too: with action packed fight scenes and a heart warming romance, what more could you want?!

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Publication Date: May 3rd

the unexpected

This is a new YA contemporary from the well acclaimed queen of contemporary, and which I’m quite unsure of what this is about. I’ve read the rather vague synopsis and I can’t really pull a clear plot, but I’m excited anyway! From what I gather this is about a girl named Andie who is a successful politician’s daughter. I assume she’s planning her summer break spending time with her friends, working at an important internship and with some hot new guys. Although her planned is quickly wiped away after a big scandal hits her father causing her next few months to be filled with utter mayhem. That is all until she meets Clark, and sweet young boy that makes life a little more bearable.

This book sounds so gosh darn cute! I’m excited to read something by Morgan Matson as everyone raves about her other novel Since You’ve Been Gone, so let’s hope I’m not let down. I am ready to be heartbroken like many Young Adult contemporaries do, but I’m okay with it as I’m sure it will be worth the internal struggle.

Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

Publication Date: May 17th

Summer d a n

This is a new anthology about sweet little stories by a stellar crew of authors! Edited by Stephanie Perkins you can just assume that this will feature the most precious little stories, and characters, and romance. I’m almost crying already!

This consists of twelve short stories by some of the most critically acclaimed YA authors at the moment. Everyone from Cassandra Clare, to Libba Bray, and even Jennifer E. Smith have all added their two cents to this masterpiece of a book. I don’t even need to know what the stories are about, I don’t care, I just need this now!

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publication Date: May 17th

Problem

This novel follows two teenagers that were raised in the foster system, and how their friendship helped them survive the toughest years of their lives. The Protagonist Mallory ‘Mouse’ Dodge was home schooled for many years by her adoptive parents, but now must enter her senior year at a public high school. This is when she reunites with Rider Stark, her friend and protection since childhood on her first day. The connection they shared hasn’t faded, and continues to grow deeper the more they spend together. This relationship brings back painful memories from the past, in which they must depend on each other to save their lives and the people they love.

OH MY GOD THIS SOUNDS LIKE UTTER PERFECTION! I know I have said this for every single one of the books I’ve mentioned, but this one is tugging on my heart-strings! This story sounds like the perfect combination of romance and heartbreak, and I’m so excited to see how Jennifer can manage this. She’s well known for her Fantasy and Science fiction novels, and I’m sure she will blow away the competition with this fairly large novel. I’ve heard nothing but great things about this and the hype is phenomenal, so it’s far to say I’m keen as a bean for this.

You Know Me Well by David Levithan & Nina LaCour

Publication Date: May 30th

29907469

This is a contemporary revolving around two lovesick teenagers and the power of their friendship. Mark and Katie, both apart of the LGBTQ+ community, are in San Francisco over the course of Pride Week. They both deal with heartbreak, new friendships and the unforgiving change in their lives, welcome or not.

This story is told in alternating chapters, from both of their point of view, which follows the hectic events during Pride Week. I can honestly say I’m so excited that there is more LGBTQ+ representation in YA literature; it’s at a steady increase and I couldn’t be happier, because I don’t think there could ever be enough! Any who, David Levithan writes the perfect contemporary novel and I loved Boy Meets Boy, so I excited to see what he creates with the fantastic Miss LaCour. I’m sure their love child will be beautiful and heart warming!


So it’s fair to say there is a great lot of books coming out this month! Quite a few genres made this list which is a rare occurrence because as we all know, I love my contemporaries and fantasy. What are your most anticipated releases for May? Let me know in a comment below, and see you next time!

2 Replies to “Readable Releases: May 2016”

Leave a Reply

