April 2016 Wrap Up

The majority of this month was school break so I tried my hardest to catch up on my reading goal for this year. Within this time period I managed to complete 4 books, which the most I have read in a long time. Good job me! So here are the novels I read this month:

The Siren by Kiera Cass

RATING: 3/5

The Siren

This was my first novel of the month and I was practically bursting to have this in my hands. The hype surrounding this novel and author are tremendous, that I flew through this! I truly adored everything about this novel, so much so that I read it in one sitting with virtually never happens! The main premise of this novel is a girl named Kahlen narrowly escapes death and becomes a Siren, a slave to the Ocean. She must deal with a 100 years of this life, in which she must use her angelic voice to lure hundreds and thousands of innocent lives to their deaths. Of course what YA novel is complete without a dreamy and mysterious love interest?! Akinli makes her forget these demons and start to fall in love, even though the Sirens number one rule is to never love a human. Now looking back on it this novel was not memorable at all, I can’t even recall the names for all of the main characters! I truly did love the overall story and the message that ‘love has no boundaries’, but I mustn’t have liked it that much.

I recommend checking out my full review here, as I’m sure this isn’t helpful at all. I’m sorry!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling

RATING: 5/5

HP 1

This month I officially started my journey to Hogwarts via paperback. I grew up watching the movies, and it is safe to say I am obsessed with everything about this series! So obviously I need to read it and compare it to the movies, because as the saying goes the book is always better. Any who, I’m sure we all know what the premise of this series is so I wont even bother trying to explain it (it’s just so complex!). All I have to say is that this is utter perfection! The movie adaptation honestly copies it word for word, and only a few basic scenes were left out but I’m not complaining. I couldn’t say anything about this masterpiece!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

RATING: 5/5

HP 2.jpg

Year 2 of Harry’s adventures was next, and I love it! Chamber of Secrets has and always will be my least favourite in the series, but that does not mean I don’t enjoy it! This novel focused more on friendship development, whereas the movie was full of action and left out some of these scenes as “they aren’t necessary to the story” -_-

The raw emotion was portrayed in such a heartfelt way that I have a new appreciation for the Golden Trio and their motives. It was clear that they followed this deadly quest and adventure purely for the safety of their loved ones, and I feel like that isn’t as clear in the movie. Also Ron is a badass! He seemed to join into the quest willingly and was interested in helping save Hogwarts and I love this new found confidence that I’ve never witnessed before.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

RATING : 5/5

HP 3

My final read of the month was probably my favourite! I freaking love Prisoner of Azkaban, and its quickly becoming my favourite novel from the series! This was full of action, hilarious dialogue and great plot twists that even managed to shock me. I shed happy tears when Harry was united with Lupin and Sirius, and I shed bucket loads of sad tears when Harry was attacked by the Dementors leading to him hearing his parent’s deaths repeatedly.  Why would Rowling do this to precious little Harry? He’s witnessed enough bad things already in his short life, cut him some slack!

I loved getting to briefly read about the Marauders time at Hogwarts and their mischievous pranks. It made me extremely giddy and overwhelmingly sad at the same time: I love all four of them so much, and getting any new piece of information was euphoric!

This series keeps getting better with each book, so I can’t wait to pick up the next one! I’m sure it will be fantastic; I’ve always had a soft spot for the movie adaptation of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire so let’s hope I’m not disappointed!


I am aware that this month will be some type of abnormality, as school is starting up again meaning not much time will be dedicated towards reading. I just hope I can keep this motivation going and hopefully smash through a few in the coming months! So what were you favourite reads this month? Let me know in the comments below and see you next time!

One Reply to “April 2016 Wrap Up”

Leave a Reply

