The Social Media Book Tag

As a child of this generation, it’s quite obvious that I may be addicted to the Internet. So today I’m combining the two loves of my life, books and social media, to bring you the Social Media Book Tag. This was originally created by Booktuber Faulty Devices, I have linked the video here if you want to check it out.

So let’s get started shall we!

Twitter: A book you want to share with the world

There is one one that springs to mind, and that is The Improbable Theory of Zak and Ana by Brian Katcher. This novel is about two teenagers that go to a comic book convention and cause some mischief. It is full of action, hilarious dialogue and countless geeky references. I recommend this to literally everyone, I guarantee there is a little something that will intrigue anyone.

Facebook: A book you really enjoyed that was recommended by someone else

I think every man and his dog recommend To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee to me. Around the time Go Set a Watchman was released, I picked up the first novel in the duology. As of now, I’ve only read half of it (I know, I’m terrible) but I’m really enjoying it so far. It’s just really dense so I can’t read it for longer time periods, but I will complete it one day!

Tumblr: A book you read before it was cool

As I was quite late the book reading scene, I haven’t really read any books that aren’t raved about all over the Internet. So the closest I’ve gotten to being a ‘hipster reader’ is with Paper Towns by John Green. When I picked this up, it was released a quite a long time ago so there wasn’t as much hype surrounding it (although it was still highly talked about). Basically as soon as I finished I found out that it was being made into a movie, so I’m counting that as a win!

Myspace: A book you don’t remember whether you liked it or not

To be completely honest, I can’t remember what I think of the Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth. I completely adored Divergent, the story was so unique and Tris was such a badass female character. However, I drastically lost interest in Insurgent and by the time I got to Allegiant I was over it. I remember liking the overall concept of the story, but I don’t remember liking the individual details. Therefore, I have very mixed feelings on whether or not I enjoy this trilogy. The struggle is real!

Instagram: A book with a gorgeous, picture worthy cover

As Bookstagram is my main platform, I feel as though I am fully qualified to answer this question! Whenever I am lacking inspiration I always feel myself drawn to one specific cover, that being A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray. I mean it is the most stunning thing I have ever seen, just look at the details! The colour scheme is so delicate and beautiful, the pictures of the cities and how they link together is so unique. Even the simplistic font look like a masterpiece; they all belong together. Believe me, the content is just as spectacular!

Youtube: A book you wish would be made into a movie


For this question I’m going to go with Solitaire by Alice Oseman. I absolutely adore This novel and I feel like it’s the perfect contemporary for the big screen. There is action, a little bit of romance and most importantly Tori, the protagonist, is hilarious and relatable. If you haven’t read this yet, get on it! It’s one of my all time favourites!

Skype: a book with characters that you wish you could talk to instead of just reading about

I have recently finished Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and I have fallen in love with the characters! They feel as though they are all real, and they are all so unique and hilarious. Emma is badass and eccentric, Julian is honestly the sweetest little thing to ever exist (major crush on this guy!). Ty just speaks to me for some reason, possibly it’s because he’s thought of an outsider in the shadowhunter world, or that he craves new knowledge. I just feel like we would really get along!

So this concludes the Social Media Book tag! Do you agree/disagree with my decisions, can you think of better options? Leave me a comment below, and see you next time!

Leave a Reply

