February Book Haul 2016 | Haul #5

February has been a busy month to say the least! With the new school year starting my attention has been pulled from the one thing that I love most, reading. Within the last month I read a total of ZERO books, that’s right none, zip, zilch. However, that doesn’t mean I didn’t buy any new ones. So let’s just hop right into it!

PURCHASED BOOKS

  
For years I’ve heard people rave on about Colleen is the greatest thing since sliced bread. I’ve always wanted to give her novels a go, but I was so intimidated by the long list of work that she’s published. So what better place to start from than the beginning, her first published novel! I have heard that this novel will most likely destroy me, and that all of the emotions will be felt. I believe this story is about a girl named Layken that has to move after her father’s sudden death. At this new town she meets a rather attractive boy that has a unique passion for slam poetry. I’m sure they will start to fall in love in the most cliché way, and I’m all for it! As there is an aspect of poetry in the plot, I’m hoping there will be some beautiful pieces of poetry sprinkled without. A girl can hope!

GIFTED BOOKS

  
I was lucky enough to win a SIGNED paperback edition in an Instagram held by the novels official page, how cool is that! The account is linked here, so go check it out for yourself. This novel also follows a teenage boy, named Daniel, whose father has just died, there’s a weird pattern going on here. However young man’s life turns upside down when he meets a man named Sef that tells him the truth behind the world ad the father that he loved dearly. See the thing is, Earth is in a downward spiral and the only way he can save it is by finishing what his father started. Can I just say, this sounds intense and phenomenal! I love a good fantasy novel and by the sounds of it, this is exactly what I need in my life! I cant wait to find out what exactly his father did and the dark secrets he was holding from the people he loved most.

BOOKS FOR REVIEW

  
Thank you so much to Faber & Faber for sending me this for review, I am thrilled to give this a go!

This is the first novel in a new Persian fantasy trilogy, and it has been receiving rave reviews so far! People are describing this novel as a middle-eastern fantasy with magic, witty dialogue, fantastic characters and a spectacular world. After hearing that I can safetyly say im sold, I don’t even need to know anything else. When can I start? P.S. this cover is so much more beautiful than I expected! If you have the chance, definitely pick up a physical copy and then you will be able to enjoy the shininess.

  
Thankyou so much to Hot Key Books for sending this along.  I can’t wait to emerge into this mysterious, and likely terrifying, novel!

This novel is a mystery/thriller about three teenage girls; two go missing and the third is demanding answers. Mandy, the last remaining member of the group, has to unveil the deep, dark secrets surrounding the disappearance. I’ve heard that you either love or hate this novel, and I’ve read some rather mixed reviews. So far it looks like I will love it, and I sure hope it stays that way! I love an emotional thriller and the Young Adult genre doesn’t nearly have enough (or possibly I just haven’t found the good ones!)

  
Once again, thank you so much to Hot Key Books for hookin’ a brother up!  You guys are far too kind.

Supposedly this is a children’s novel but is that going to stop me from reading it? I highly doubt it! Not gonna lie, I know absolutely nothing about this novel and I intend to keep it that way. The title caught my attention, and then that cover drew me in. I mean look at it, it literally has a picture of the Grim Reaper. How insane is that!? Keeping this in mind, possibly I was wrong about it being a children’s novel, but who knows.

  • Maresi by Maria Turtschaninoff

  
Finally, I want to say thank you to Pushkin Children’s Books for letting me review this newly anticipated novel. I am thrilled to give this book a go!

This story follows a girl named Maresi, hence the title, that moves to Red Abbey when she was only thirteen. In this world girls aren’t allowed to learn or do as they please, however she is now on an island solely inhabited by women. The girls of Red Abbey must use their powers and ancient knowledge to combat the forces that wish to destroy them, the men. A group of girls that are fighting for their rights in a world where they are thought to be superior, this sounds badass! I have insanely high hopes for this, and I really hope it lives up to the expectations! What really excites me about this novel is that it was originally published in Swedish, and then translated to English. I can honestly say that I’ve never read a story translated from a different language, so this is a new and exciting experience for me!

  
So this concludes my February Book Haul! I had a suprisingly small amount of new books to add to my TBR, so let’s hope I can continue this next month!

What new books did you get this month, and which are you most excited for? Leave me a comment below, and I’ll see you next time!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

