REVIEW: Love and Decay: Revolution Ep. #1

Author: Rachel Higginson

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Series: Love and Decay Novella Series

Rating: ★★★★

Visit Love and Decay: Revolution Ep. #1 goodreads page here

Publisher: Reckless Siren Publishing

Get your own copy from Amazon

cover

SYNOPSIS: ” ‘It’s not easy being a badass Zombie killer. But somebody’s got to do it.’

Page Parker grew up in the aftermath of the Zombie Apocalypse. She grew up running from Zombies and fighting against the constant threat of death and disease. She knows what it’s like to suffer, to go hungry, to hurt… to lose loved ones.

But Page isn’t a little girl anymore.

She’s a strong, independent, capable warrior. Skilled in the art of Zombie killing, Page spends her days protecting her family and the city they call home. Bogotá, Colombia is a long way from where she was born, but this city holds the promise of a future… of a cure.

Until a ghost from her past reappears in her present asking her to dedicate her life to something more than her family… asking her to dedicate her life to the one thing she wants more than anything- Revenge.

I received an Advanced Readers Copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.


The first thing I want to say is that I highly enjoyed this novella overall. There are a a few minor details that I would alter, but overall this was a fantastic story!

In this small story about a dozen new characters were introduced practically all at once, and I had a bit of trouble identifying each character. Obviously this happens at the beginning of a new story, it’s inevitable, however, for the majority of the story I was trying to work out if a certain character was one of Page’s brother, one of the children, a scientist, or apart of Santi’s gang. This particular edition had a bonus novella, which was the same story but written in Miller’s POV rather than Page’s. I can honestly say I enjoyed this much more, because I had a better grasp of the concept and the characters.

It wasn’t until after I finished that I realised that there was a few ‘seasons’ that take place before this particular one. It makes me wonder that if I had read the previous instalments I would have had an easier time with the characters.

As for the plot, I’m in love! I may or may not be slightly obsessed with zombies, and this is a completely new take of the paranormal beings that I’m used to. Having the whole ‘aging’ factor is something so uniquely new, it was interesting as most people don’t explain what happens to zombies after a longer period of time. Also having faster and more physically capable creatures was an exciting addition because it added suspense and action, making the novel just fly by.

Rachel’s writing is impeccable; at times I forgot that I was reading because I was so involved in the story. From the first few pages I was hooked, and her beautiful words were rippled with imagery and descriptions that refused to let go until the very end. It’s not often you come across that within such a short story.

I predict there may be some romance in future episodes, but the real question is who will it be? There is some obvious chemistry between Page and some certain males, and I’m excited to see who it will end up being. Quite possibly it could be someone else hanging out under the radar, who knows at this stage!


 

“She was lovely when everything else was withered and dead. She was beautiful when everything else had rotten with decay. She was hope when there was nothing but despair.” This first episode in the season was more than what I expected! The story was fantastic and uniquely beautiful, I definitely hope to continue with the story.

3 Replies to “REVIEW: Love and Decay: Revolution Ep. #1”

Leave a Reply

