REVIEW: Timesurfers

Author: Rhonda Sermon

Genre: Fantasy

Rating: ★★★★★

Visit Timesurfers goodreads page here

Publisher: Independently

Get your own copy from Book Depository, Amazon, Kobo or directly from Rhonda’s website

timesurfers.jpg

SYNOPSIS: ” “You’ve misunderstood. It’s not a choice. It’s a destiny.”
When fifteen year old Cate accidentally brings a dead cheerleader back to life her connection to the secretive Timesurfers is revealed. The Timesurfers travel through time and battle the powerful dark forces intent on manipulating history. Cate must discover her powers, choose a side and end a centuries old war. No pressure.”

I received a Paperback edition ,from Rhonda herself, in exchange for an honest review.


When I was contacted by Rhonda I have to admit that I was extremely hesitant. I don’t often read time travel novels, as I feel that they always follow the same basic plot. However I gave it a chance, and I’m so glad that I did! This book is phenomenal, as it’s fast paced and full of action. At no point of time was I wishing for it to be faster, which is a rare occurrence.

The plot of this novel was mind blowing! The first half of the novel is set aside purely to explain everything with immense detail, which I am glad it was sectioned like that because at no point was I confused. Everything including the history of Timesurfers to what colour immortals eyes were covered, which I am not complaining about. I love a good detailed plot! Then once you hit the midway point, the action is turned up a notch. It’s so fast, that you just drown into the novel and will read for hours without realising. I can honestly say it’s not often that a book has the ability to distract from the real world, but when I was reading this I got lost for days!

The characters really make the novel what it is! Each person is so unique and beautifully crafted and detailed that I felt like I personally knew them.

A common complaint is that Cate is a little indecisive, but who wouldn’t be when you are thrown into a world full of hot Timesurfers!? I feel like she is written in such a way that her emotions and thoughts are realistic, because I’m sure a normal teenage girl wouldn’t have self doubt when placed under pressure. She acts, thinks and talks like a normal teenager, I have just a bit of experience and that is why I relate and love her so much as a person (obviously without the cute Timesurfer buddies).

Jonah and Austin, both have a complicated relationship with Cate. At some point she hates them, then it’s slightly romantic, and then they are just friends. This is why it was so bloody difficult for me to choose a ‘side’ and whole heartedly believe that one is better than the other. Jonah is a sweet and a VERY attractive boy that genuinely cares about Cate and will do virtually anything to protect her and ensure that she’s safe. With that in mind I feel like he is doing this for himself, as at times he mentioned how a certain event will benefit him even though he was supposedly doing it for Cate. On the other hand we have Austin who I instantly fell in love with. He was funny, cute and kind of awkward in situations but played it cool, even though we could see past his façade. I feel like he was perfect for Cate as they have very similar personalities and seemed to fit each other well. At points I found him to be rather secretive, and his kind of mysterious back story makes me question whether I can trust him or not. However I’m proud to announce, that at this point in time, I’m #TeamAustin. I bet this will change when I read the next novel!

Rose oh Rose, she is a weird person to explain. It’s like she hates everyone, yet doesn’t want them to leave either. I guess this is explained why within the story (don’t want to spoil anything), but that is when I started liking her. At first I thought she was a secretive, obnoxious, rude person that pushed everyone away but know I realise that’s how she shows her affection. Rose has now become one of my favourite characters, and I have learnt to embrace her individuality.


 

Without good and bad there would be no hereos. If people never suffered and died from disease or war, no one would step up with cures or negotiate peace.”

Timesurfers is the perfect fantasty, time travel novel that everyone will love. There is everything you could hope for from fantastic action scenes to a good section of witty dialogue. The plot and characters are so well thought out, and luckily with Rhonda’s writing skills the story blew away my expectations! There is plot twists around every corner to keep you on your toes, and trust me, you will not seem them coming! But I’m so glad to say this; at no point does a well loved character die. This does not happen often, so thank you for letting me breathe with ease Rhonda!

 

 

3 Replies to “REVIEW: Timesurfers”

Leave a Reply

