REVIEW: The Naked Man

Author: Jill Amy Rosenblatt

Genre: New Adult

Series: The Fixer

Rating: ★★★

Visit The Naked Man goodreads pages here

Publisher: Createspace

Get your own copy from The Book DepositoryAmazonKobo or from Barnes & Noble

25765634

SYNOPSIS: “Katerina—I need some help. Be a good girl and come over here and I’ll make it worth your while.”
It’s an offer NYC college student Katerina Mills should refuse. But how can she?
A desperate situation….
After ditching her cheating lover (and boss), she’s stuck in dead end temp jobs. Her dad just ditched her mom and his promise to pay Kat’s college tuition bill.
She has two weeks to come up with $14,000 or she’s out of her apartment, out of school, and out of luck.
A dangerous world….
Katerina falls into a job as a “fixer” for New York City’s wealthy and privileged men. They have problems they need “fixed,” quick and on the QT, and they’re willing to pay.
The rules are simple: collect the money, use your contacts, fix the problem.
Kat’s first job is easy: tail a shopaholic socialite wife. But who’s tailing Kat?
Kat’s second job is not so easy: steal a VHS tape hidden in an antique chest. She can’t do it alone. To be a thief, she needs a thief: handsome, reclusive Alexander Winter to be exact.
Kat soon learns the real rules for a fixer: there are no rules, there are no refunds. Get in. Get results. Get gone.
As every step brings her closer to her goal and closer to danger, there’s one rule left for Katerina Mills to learn: once you’re in, there’s no getting out.

I recieved an Ebook edition as a part of the BookBear book tour, in exchange of an honest review.


Don’t get me wrong I didn’t hate this book, yet I didn’t love it either. The writing was phenomenal, such high quality for a starting author, and it managed to pull me into Katerina’s world. However the story is not what I was expecting.

When I read the synopsis I expected the novel to be full of mystery and drama, yet I was surprised with what it truly was. The story was full of suspense, and the plot was beautifully created and built. Some parts where slower, but contained miraculous world building, so I didn’t mind. With saying that, I can’t recall one second that I was bored out of my mind in this book, so kudos to Jill.

Some of the relationships between Katerina and her friends/family/ and whoever were a bit lacking. At time I felt like some of the side characters were dragging Katerina down, that she couldn’t be her true sassy self. And I do love a good sassy character!

I felt like something was missing in this story. The suspense was building up to something great and twisting, but I felt like the end was a little disappointing. Yeah, it did have some crazy, outrageous shock that I’m still not completely over! I just would have liked a little something extra, but that’s pretty much the only thing I didn’t like about this novel.

Overall, this book was lacking in some areas, but the writing style was far too good to rate lower. It’s definitely pulling me back, and I will continue with the series. The novels are only short, so I can’t wait to see how the story continues!

bookbear badge

6 Replies to “REVIEW: The Naked Man”

Leave a Reply

