REVIEW: The DUFF

Author: Kody Keplinger

Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Rating: ★★★★★

Visit The DUFF‘s goodreads page here

Publisher: Hodder Children’s Books

Get your own copy from the Book Depository, Kobo, Amazon or directly from the Publisher

the DUFF

SYNOPSIS: Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “Duffy,” she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren’t so great at home right now. Desperate for a distraction, Bianca ends up kissing Wesley. And likes it. Eager for escape, she throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with Wesley.

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out that Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


When I picked up this book I was hoping for a light-hearted comedy, with a dash of sexy in the form of a young man. It met my expectations and more! It was a sweet, fast paced romance filled with high school drama. The perfect Rom-Com

All of the characters were so realistic, that’s what made the novel so enjoyable. Bianca, who I found most relatable, was a smart, sarcastic character that you couldn’t help but feel for. She was an outcast of the school, and only had a few true friends but they loved each other. She was happy with her life and wouldn’t change anything. It wasn’t until Wesley Rush, her nemesis, called her the DUFF which is when her life spiralled out of control. She started to feel like she didn’t belong anywhere, home life was starting to crumble and fall apart, and she found comfort in the one ting she didn’t want to, Wesley. Their little friends-with-benefits relationship confused me at first, during the beginning she always mentioned how she was smart enough to know that Wesley was a man whore, and she would never go there. Within 50 pages later, she let all of her worries go and slept with him. I really didn’t approve of this at first; she was basically using him for her own benefit, and practically threw away her immoral perceptions of him.

As the story continued I grew to love their relationship. Once they started to gain feelings for each other, I would just internally scream due to cuteness overload. Their relationship was the typical Young Adult contemporary relationship, but I loved it. The magical combination worked again! When everything was looking wonderful form them, the annoying section came; they would admit their feelings and tried to change them. This of course was as frustrating as every, I had to fight the urge to start screaming at the characters because they were so clueless!

Wesley was the cutest little thing ever! At first, like Bianca I HATED him, he was rude and was another typical over sexual guy in high school. Once we actually go an insight to his life, my own perceptions were drastically changed. He was a sweet young boy that was hurting as much as Bianca was, and he truly did care for her. The way he stood up for her, and protected her made my heart skip a beat. Then when he was having a heart-to-heart with Bianca saying she wasn’t a slut and that everyone makes mistakes, I was practically sobbing because my heart so much. He was perfect for her and I loved it!

In the same way, Bianca was perfect for him. She changed him for the better; he was a sexual man whore that would get with everyone, and then changed to be a young man who truly cares for his family and friends. I’m glad they both went through this change, because if they didn’t the novel would have felt rushed and anticlimactic.

The one thing that I had a problem with has her so-called best friends Jessica and Casey. They both made their feelings towards her relationship with Wesley clear, even when they knew Bianca truly cared about him. I feel as though they were a bit harsh and I soon came to dislike them immensely. They treated her like rubbish unintentionally, and I feel like Bianca deserved better. They also let their emotions get the better of them far too often. Countless times Casey would get mad at Bianca for no true reason, because they felt a distance starting to grow within the trinity. I understand Bianca was holding back the truth, but if they were really her best friends, they wouldn’t of pushed her to the point they did; it was like they didn’t care about her.


No matter where you go or what you do to distract yourself, reality catches up with you eventually”. Overall, I found the DUFF to be really relatable, therefore enjoyable. I highly recommend this to anyone that loves a good Rom-Com.

2 Replies to “REVIEW: The DUFF”

  1. Hey 🙂 I saw the movie and I like it so much – tbh made me think that I am a DUFF too, and maybe I really am :/ I liked it so much that now I want to read the book and your review convinced me to buy it – or at least, to put on my wishlist till my birtday ^^”
    Have a nice day 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

