Readable Releases: June 2015

A new month is upon us which ultimately means new bookish releases! I going to share with you my top 5 most anticipated books for June 2015.

NOTE: Release dates may vary

1. Proof of Forever by Lexa Hillyer

RELEASE DATE: 2nd of June

  

From debut author and poet Lexa Hillyer comes the lyrical story of four seventeen-year-old friends who receive an unlikely chance to relive the perfect summer . . . and the devastating secret that could unravel it all. Elegant and evocative, Proof of Forever is one of those first novels that hooks you from the beginning and builds toward a stunning–and unexpected–end, calling to mind Gayle Forman and Ann Brashares.

Joy, Tali, Luce, and Zoe were once best friends. Now they barely speak. That is, until the fateful flash of a photo-booth camera transports them back in time, to the summer they were fifteen–the summer everything changed. Photos fade. Friendships dissolve. Summers end. But this one will change the girls forever . . . again.

This cover is initially the reason why I was interested in this book. Its simply stunning, and like most bookworms I love a good-looking cover! I then looked at the synopsis, it sounds like such a fun and quirky read. the time traveling with your ex best friends aspect sounds so awkward, which means it will be great for the readers.

2. In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

RELEASE DATE: 2nd June

  

In 1987, Miri Ammerman returns to her hometown of Elizabeth, New Jersey, to attend a commemoration of the worst year of her life. Thirty-five years earlier, when Miri was fifteen, and in love for the first time, a succession of airplanes fell from the sky, leaving a community reeling. Against this backdrop of actual events that Blume experienced in the early 1950s, when airline travel was new and exciting and everyone dreamed of going somewhere, she paints a vivid portrait of a particular time and place—Nat King Cole singing “Unforgettable,” Elizabeth Taylor haircuts, young (and not-so-young) love, explosive friendships, A-bomb hysteria, rumors of Communist threat. And a young journalist who makes his name reporting tragedy. Through it all, one generation reminds another that life goes on.

In the Unlikely Event is vintage Judy Blume, with all the hallmarks of Judy Blume’s unparalleled storytelling, and full of memorable characters who cope with loss, remember the good times and, finally, wonder at the joy that keeps them going

I have heard fantastic reviews about Judy’s past books, that’s why I was intrigued. On later inspection is when I found that it sounds really unique and something I would love! The plot sounds so interesting, and full of emotion, so I have high hopes for this. I’m hoping Judy can meet them!

3. The Witch Hunter by Virginia Boecker

RELEASE DATE: 2nd June

    

Your greatest enemy isn’t what you fight, but what you fear.

Elizabeth Grey is one of the king’s best witch hunters, devoted to rooting out witchcraft and doling out justice. But when she’s accused of being a witch herself, Elizabeth is arrested and sentenced to burn at the stake.

Salvation comes from a man she thought was her enemy. Nicholas Perevil, the most powerful and dangerous wizard in the kingdom, offers her a deal: he will save her from execution if she can break the deadly curse that’s been laid upon him.

But Nicholas and his followers know nothing of Elizabeth’s witch hunting past–if they find out, the stake will be the least of her worries. And as she’s thrust into the magical world of witches, ghosts, pirates, and one all-too-handsome healer, Elizabeth is forced to redefine her ideas of right and wrong, of friends and enemies, and of love and hate.

The Witch Hunter is the first book in a debut fantasy series. This book sounds phenomenal! It sounds like a very fast paced book full of action, which I’m sure everybody loves! it also sounds interesting due to the fact that she founds salvation is the people she hates; she is going to go through a lot of character development throughout.

4. Every Last Word by Tamara Ireland Stone

RELEASE DATE: 16th June

  

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.

Samantha McAllister looks just like the rest of the popular girls in her junior class. But hidden beneath the straightened hair and expertly applied makeup is a secret that her friends would never understand: Sam has Purely-Obsessional OCD and is consumed by a stream of dark thoughts and worries that she can’t turn off.

Second-guessing every move, thought, and word makes daily life a struggle, and it doesn’t help that her lifelong friends will turn toxic at the first sign of a wrong outfit, wrong lunch, or wrong crush. Yet Sam knows she’d be truly crazy to leave the protection of the most popular girls in school. So when Sam meets Caroline, she has to keep her new friend with a refreshing sense of humor and no style a secret, right up there with Sam’s weekly visits to her psychiatrist.

Caroline introduces Sam to Poet’s Corner, a hidden room and a tight-knit group of misfits who have been ignored by the school at large. Sam is drawn to them immediately, especially a guitar-playing guy with a talent for verse, and starts to discover a whole new side of herself. Slowly, she begins to feel more “normal” than she ever has as part of the popular crowd . . . until she finds a new reason to question her sanity and all she holds dear.

I’m not going to lie, the cover is the first thing that caught my attention, it’s so simple yet it’s so gorgeous! I them read the synopsis and fell in love. this story sound unique and something I would really relate to. It sounds fun and heartbreaking all at the same time.

5. Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

RELEASE DATE: 30th June

  

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.

This book sounds like a typical, yet lovable, contemporary story. I’m interested to see how the story will pan-out due to the fact it says she has to choose between finding love or herself. I feel as though it will be a unique read about self discovery with a hint of romance (because honestly, what is a Young Adult contemporary with out a romance?)


So apparently this month is known for its great contemporary releases! this list might be dominated by them, and there is hundreds more that sound equally amazing.

what are your most anticipated releases for June? leave a comment, I would love to know!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s