REVIEW: A Thousand Pieces of You

Author: Claudia Gray
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Sci-fi
Series: Firebird Book #1
Rating: ★★★★★

Quick Summary
This novel is about a girl named Marguerite (I called her by her nickname Meg because I have NO idea how to pronounce her name!) who uses an invention, the Firebird, to jump to alternate dimensions. This is because she is looking for the man that killed her father and destroyed the data for her families research. She is thrown into dimensions that range from some not so different to her own, to Russia with little technology and on the verge of war. Throughout she struggles between what she knows and what she feels, this is amplified when she finds some extremely important information. She is torn between going home and staying the whole time, it doesn’t help when they hit so many road bumps!


Synopsis

Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most astonishing invention: the Firebird, which allows users to jump into parallel universes, some vastly altered from our own. But when Marguerite’s father is murdered, the killer—her parent’s handsome and enigmatic assistant Paul—escapes into another dimension before the law can touch him.

Marguerite can’t let the man who destroyed her family go free, and she races after Paul through different universes, where their lives entangle in increasingly familiar ways. With each encounter she begins to question Paul’s guilt—and her own heart. Soon she discovers the truth behind her father’s death is more sinister than she ever could have imagined.

A Thousand Pieces of You explores a reality where we witness the countless other lives we might lead in an amazingly intricate multiverse, and ask whether, amid infinite possibilities, one love can endure.


The main reason why I bought this book was the cover. I mean seriously who wouldn’t walk into a book store and stare at it!. I picked up this book and drooled over the cover them read the synopsis on the back. I then knew I was going to love it so I took it home!
It was then that it sat on my bookshelf for atleast a month until I read it for the book club I’m apart of The Elite Readers.

The thing that shocked me most about this book is the romance. I didn’t expect any form of relationship to play a major role in any characters development, but I was pleasantly suprised. Romance and Dimensional Travel, what more could you ask for! Meg and Paul’s relationship has got to be one of cutest I’ve ever read. Even Theo and Paul’s relationship was cute!
I just hope that Claudia Gray doesn’t turn this into a poorly written love triangle like most Young Adult books are, I love how this book is actually different!

I found some of the dimensions really boring, like when they were in the Technologically advanced London or the dimension very similar to her own, I feel as though they weren’t needed. Not much happened during these parts and made the story drag on, they weren’t as exciting and intriguing as all the others.
But man, the Russian Royalty Denison was my absolute favourite part of the book. She should write a whole book about it, I would be the first to buy it. Trust me. Lieutenant Markov literally destroyed my heart, he has officially been added to my ever growing list of fictional boyfriends! The way he cared for Meg even though he knew their relationship could never be anymore than it already was, was just adorable. I loved how it pushed Meg out of her “comfort” zone and changed her for the better, it made her smarter and she now thinks differently.
Even her dad broke my heart. Their relationship was so different to what Meg had with her real father, yet it was the same at the same time.

I’m so excited for the sequel, I’m just sitting over here in the corner pulling my hair out and slowly going insane waiting to see what happens next! I need to know more about Meg’s family and their research. I feel we only touched the surface of what they actually do, I feel something darker hiding in plain sight.
Theo and Paul are still the mysterious cute boys that everyone crushes on. We barely know anything about the real boys. Even Meg wasn’t developed to the best she could have been.

Overall, I see this series becoming huge. It has something that literally everyone could love, everything from Sci-Fi to Romance. I would recommend this book to everyone just so I had someone to talk about it with! The feels will destroy you.

2 Replies to “REVIEW: A Thousand Pieces of You”

Leave a Reply

