REVIEW: City of Lost Souls

Author: Cassandra Clare
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Series: The Mortal Instruments (book #5)
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?


I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. This series has taken a dark turn and I love it!

Firstly, I found Clary to get a bit annoying. She always makes her decisions quickly without thinking it through. She always put her love for Jacw first before anyone else, including herself. Besides that, I feel we have seen another side to her which I’ve been waiting to see for ages. Her Shadowhunter self. The way she stood up for herself to everyone including the enemies was something we haven’t seen much of. I respect her character so much more now.

Sebastian and Jace really suprised me. Even though I hate Sebastian for everything he has done in the past, the delicate side he was playing made me really feel for him. I started to like him as a person and the relationship he built with Jace and Clary throughout was so unique. Even though Jace was his true self, him and Sebastian was my Favourite part of the novel. I kept wanting to read more about their story rather than anyone else’s. They had such a unique storyline that I’ve never experienced before.
I can’t imagine what Jace went through during his time with Sebastian. The fact that he could remember everything and feel everything, yet he couldn’t think for himself was heartbreaking. What he would’ve endured is unthinkable and the only thing that got him through was the love of his life, Clary.

As for ‘Team Good’, I feel as though they didn’t shine as individual characters at all. They were always together so we didn’t really get to experience the ‘one on one’ we have gotten from the other books. I still do love them all dearly but I was disappointed that they didn’t all have their seperate stories aswell.
Simon was his usual nerdy self, and when his sister found out about him it broke my heart. She was so frightened that she started to leave. Then she realised that he is the same brother she watched grow up and she came around to the idea. I may of cried a few happy tears.
Izzy and Alec didn’t appear to have an important role in this novel. Sure they were important, as always, but I feel that the burdens of the problems they faced were pushed onto Magnus and Simon more than usual.
Magnus was as hilarious as always. He didn’t really develop at all during this whole novel. I understand that it’s the 7th novel he’s featured in but he’s still very mysterious. I would like to know more from his past and I hope to get some more information soon.

I love that even though they are in the middle of war, so many romances are blooming and staying strong. Almost every character we have grown to love has found someone to love for themselves. Maia & Jordan, Izzy & Simon, Alec & Magnus, Jocelyn & Luke and even Clary & Jace has grown so much as a couple. Some of these aren’t official yet but they share so much love for each other and it makes my heart melt from cuteness overload!

The only thing I need is the wedding! I need it know! I hate how it keeps being pushed back due to various reasons. I want there love to be official and for them to be brought together as a couple. I hope that the wedding is in the next novel because if not I will rip my heart out of frustration!

Throughout this novel I cried happy tears and sad tears so many times. I need to read the next book NOW, it was left on such a cliffhanger. I need to know more!

Leave a Reply

